You might have come across amphibians in your life. Have you ever noticed a unique thing about them? They can thrive equally on land and in water (moist environment). Their special skin glands allow them to absorb water through their skin and make their life in water and on land. Talking about these species and types of class Amphibia, you will find more than 6000 different species across the globe, with more than 90% of frogs.

Moreover, they have especially recognized features, making them unique and classified. This post will reveal everything you need to know about amphibians, their types, and characters, followed by the FAQ section. Keep walking with us to learn more!

What are amphibians?

Amphibians are small vertebrates that live both in water and on land. They need a moist environment for survival; even on the land, they will never go too far from water. The special skin glands allow them to absorb water and produce proteins for survival. Most species in this class are frogs, while others include toads, Salamander, and newts.

The skin glands in this class perform various functions apart from producing proteins or absorbing water. These functions include the following:

  • Transport of Oxygen and Carbon Dioxide into and from the body
  • Fights bacteria
  • Fights fungal infections
  • Used for defense

To caution possible hunters, the most poisonous amphibians are additionally the most brilliantly colored. Curare, for instance, is found on the skin of bright toxic substance dart frogs. One more exceptional element of most amphibians is their egg-larva-adult life cycle. The larva is sea-going and free-swimming — frogs and amphibians at this stage are called tadpoles. The grown-ups foster limbs and lungs, while some also lose their tails at a specific size.

Would you like to visit the different amphibians and observe how they spend their lives? It would be best to book your Dubai Aquarium and underwater zoo tickets today and pay a visit with your family!

What are the different types of amphibians?

You will find only THREE major types in the class about the types of amphibians. However, counting on the species will take you the entire day as there are multiple available across the globe. Let us explore the three major types of class amphibia.

1. Anura

Group Anura is also known as Salientia and primarily includes frogs and toads. The included species make the most significant order of the group and are well-known across the globe. Scientists and wildlife researchers find this group the primary source of amphibians.

2. Apoda

Another group of class amphibia, which is least familiar to ordinary people, is Apoda. The group primarily includes species like caecilians, which mostly live either in the ground or in streams.

3. Urodela

The species with a long tail and thin body are often included in the group Urodela and are easy to recognize. The amphibians included in this group are Salamanders and newts. Moreover, these amphibians also have a few bones in their skulls, making them unique from the rest of the class.

Common characteristics of class amphibia

Amphibians have special characteristics which make them unique to their classification. The special attributes make them stand different from other groups, and we will discuss these characters in the coming lines. Let us begin!

  • External egg fertilization: Amphibians don’t need mating before they release clear eggs due to external fertilization. They hatch eggs with a jelly-like texture, and their eggs are fertilized after.
  • Carnivorous appetite: Every amphibian is a carnivore, and anything they can swallow will become their meal. You would be surprised to know that some species can eat mice when they have to.
  • Cold-blooded animals: Amphibians are cold-blooded animals like reptiles and fish. They can match their internal body temperature with the external environment to stabilize their life and living conditions.
  • Primitive lungs: Every amphibian goes through an evolution process, and as a result, they develop primitive lungs. They can work as gills while the amphibian is underwater. However, animals can breathe through their skin while in the water.
  • Lives on water and land: One of the most striking features of amphibians is that they live both in water and on land. Their specialized body structure and function allow them to utilize both environments to spend a good time.

Do you want to visit and interact with amphibians and observe how they live in their habitat? Dubai aquarium explorer package Dubai Aquarium and underwater zoo tickets today and pay a visit with your family next weekend!

Explore aquatic species at Dubai Aquarium!

Dubai Aquarium and the underwater zoo is an underwater world with various aquatic species under its hood. Exploring this amazing place is worth trying; you should never do it without your kids. Are you free the next weekend? Why not Dubai aquarium tickets and pay a visit with your family to explore this hidden aquatic world?